At the end of key stage 1 (KS1) and Key stage 2, from 2016, teachers will use teacher assessment judgements to report on the progress of their pupils. These assessment judgements take into account a pupil’s performance in national curriculum tests (often referred to as SATs) in mathematics, English reading and English grammar, punctuation and spelling.

The main changes to the tests from 2016 at Key stage 2 are:
  • The inclusion of questions to assess new areas of core subjects in the national curriculum your child has been taught.
  • A new arithmetic test to check your child is progressing with the fundamentals of mathematics.

Subject Test paper
English: reading 1 paper
English: grammar, punctuation and spelling 2 papers: spelling; punctuation and grammar (including vocabulary)
Mathematics 2 papers: arithmetic; mathematical reasoning
Mathematics 1 paper: mathematical reasoning

Your child will take these tests on set dates. These results are used in many secondary schools to group students in their respected classes traditionally referred to as sets, top SATs grade means top sets and bottom SATs grade means bottom sets.

Key Stage 2 SATs results also form the aim or target GCSE grade that the school sets for your child.


Let Grade Up help you to support your child, better SATs grade means a top set, which means a higher GCSE aim grade which means access to the higher level of curriculum, which would potentially result in higher GCSE grades and hence a brighter future.